Our network

Isakson announces U.S. military academy appointees | Events

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Isakson announces U.S. military academy appointees
Events, Schools
Isakson announces U.S. military academy appointees

ATLANTA -- United States Senator Johnny Isakson is proud to announce that 29 Georgia students have received appointments to prestigious military academies.

"One of my favorite tasks each year is to nominate promising young leaders to our nation's military academies," Isakson said. "This was an extremely competitive year and I congratulate these appointees who will make Georgia and America proud."

Each member of Congress must nominate young people to the nation's military academies every year.

Those who are accepted are awarded full four-year scholarships that include tuition, books, board, medical and dental care.

Isakson will host a reception for the students and their families on Sunday, June 12 at the Georgian Club (100 Galleria Parkway, Atlanta).

The accepted students for 2011 include:

U.S. Air Force Academy
* James Curlee, Douglasville
* Joseph Elliot, Roswell
* David Garrison, Cumming
* Timothy Hill, Smyrna
* John Jackson, Decatur
* John Brian Johnstone, Marietta
* Dallis Joiner, Atlanta
* Haley Jones, Cumming
* Maxwell Krasnov, Kennesaw
* Henry Leeuwenburg, Gainesville
* Christopher McNerney, Mineral Bluff
* Reade Midyette, Atlanta
* Timothy Thornburg, Peachtree City

U.S. Military Academy
* Lance Barrow, Powder Springs
* Lauren Scales, Braselton
* Cole Torres, Dublin
* Brandon Walker, Statesboro
* Taylor Wilby, Atlanta

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
* Ryan Krisher, Peachtree City
* Samuel O'Donnell, Canton
* Cameron Stadele, Milton
* Leena Yi, McDonough

U.S. Naval Academy
* Frances DePree, Atlanta
* Eileen Dilks, Lawrenceville
* Emily Hornberger, Marietta
* Andrea Howard, Norcross
* Sarah Hutchinson, Marietta
* Robert Marshall, Watkinsville
* John Morrow, Duluth

Events, Schools

Norcross Deals