Our network

11 Gwinnett County Public Schools (GCPS) high school seniors are Scholarship winners | People

Title (Max 100 Characters)

11 Gwinnett County Public Schools (GCPS) high school seniors are Scholarship winners
People, Schools
11 Gwinnett County Public Schools (GCPS) high school seniors are Scholarship winners

Gwinnett County, GA --  The National Merit Scholarship Corporation recently announced that 11 Gwinnett County Public Schools (GCPS) high school seniors have been selected as 2011 National Achievement Scholarship winners. The National Achievement Scholarship Program provides a one-time $2,500 scholarship to outstanding Black American high school students, considered as having the strongest record of accomplishments and greatest potential for academic success in college.

The 2011 Gwinnett honorees are:

Berkmar High:

·     Dina A. Hassan

   probable career field: International Relations/Diplomatic Service

Brookwood High:

·     Joel A. Owen

    probable career field: Veterinary Medicine

·     Dania A. Roach

   probable career field: Biomedical Engineering

·     Aida J. Syrkett

   probable career field: Statistics/Information Technology

Dacula High:

·     Patricia E. Ekpo

   probable career field: International Non-profit Management

Grayson High:

·     Brianna I. Edghill

   probable career field: Non-profit Management

Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science, and Technology:

·     Wesley Mitchell

   probable career field: Engineering

·     Amarachi O. Nnakwe

   probable career field: Pediatrics

Parkview High:

·     Tiffany A. Agard

   probable career field: International Relations

South Gwinnett High:

·     Jamal B. Gaddis

   probable career field: Biology

·     Kadeem J. Yearwood

   probable career field: Business Management

These 11 GCPS students join more than 700 outstanding Black American high school seniors across the nation who will receive scholarships totaling more than $2 million dollars as part of the annual National Achievement Scholarship competition, conducted by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). About 100 Achievement Scholars are recipients of the corporate-sponsored Achievement Scholarship awards.

Corporate organizations generally provide awards for finalists who are children of their employees, residents of communities the company serves, or have plans to pursue majors or careers the grantor wishes to encourage.

Most of the awards are renewable for up to four years of college undergraduate study and provide annual stipends that range from $500 to $10,000 per year. Some provide a single payment between $2,500 and $5,000.

The competition first began with results of the 2009 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT.) Last fall, semifinalists were designated within geographic regions based on the highest scores in the states that make up each region. They advanced to the finalist level in the competition by filling out a detailed application, presenting a record of high academic performance throughout high school, being endorsed and recommended by the school principal, writing an essay, and earning SAT scores that confirm the PSAT/NMSQT performance. Achievement Scholar honorees were selected from the finalists judged to have the strongest record of accomplishments.

People, Schools

Norcross Deals