Our network

Governor commends Georgia's new Master Teachers | People

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Governor commends Georgia's new Master Teachers
People, Schools
Governor commends Georgia's new Master Teachers

ATLANTA -- Governor Nathan Deal has announced the names of 86 Georgia teachers who have earned "Master Teacher" certification.

This distinction is based on demonstrated excellence in student achievement and growth for 2011.

"I am proud of Georgia's Master Teachers for their tireless efforts to enrich the minds and lives of our students and for their ongoing work toward reaching our state's goal of providing a high-quality teacher in every classroom," said Gov. Deal. "Georgia continues to make tremendous strides in improving educational opportunities for our students, and I am unwavering in my support of the critical link between effective teachers and student achievement."

Georgia's Master Teacher Certification Program was established in 2005 and is coordinated by the Professional Standards Commission (PSC).

Based on classroom performance on the Criterion-Referenced Competency Test (CRCT), documentation of student growth and exemplary professional practices, superior teachers are designated as "Master Teachers" for a period of seven years.

"The 2011 Master Teachers join a group of Georgia's highly skilled and dedicated educators who share a passion for teaching and student learning," said Kelly Henson, executive secretary for PSC. "The Professional Standards Commission, along with their schools and communities, recognize and celebrate their accomplishments."

Master Teachers are eligible to automatically renew their teaching certificates as long as they continue to qualify for Master Teacher status.

The 2011 Master Teachers from Metro Atlanta include:

Atlanta Public Schools
* Amy Lawrence

Cherokee County
* Kimberley Eubanks Harris
* Sonya C. Turner

Clarke County
* Janice Burkett Davis
* Janet Wilkins

Clayton County
* Tonya Clarke
* Neva Yvette Seldon
* Sarah Marie Tate
* Ave Maria Tatum

Cobb County
* Deborah Dianna Denton-Marker

DeKalb County
* June Hawkins-Jones

Fayette County
* Carol Taylor

Fulton County
* Cleopatra Alma Ballantyne
* Jeanne Bayer
* Robin R. Berlin
* Linda Bryant-Butler
* Toneka Charo Bussey
* Delrio Chiesa Carter
* Cheryl E. Ducray
* Karla C. Ess
* Carrie Mustin Fontan
* Robert Gustave Gabel
* Jillian Danielle Harris
* Rayna C. Helton
* Deborah Fishman Kodish
* Kimberly Helen London
* Deborah Alex Lorber
* Monica Madden
* Jaclyn McLaren
* Amanda Harrington Mitchell
* Heavenly R. Montgomery
* James Andrew Payne
* Wagner Guy Pierre
* Elaida T. Pitts
* Mark R. Poole
* Tania Horan Pope
* Jerilyn Denise Robinson
* Jennifer Slay
* Jean B. Thoss
* Sandy Vegners
* Ida M. Ward
* Julie A. Yost

Gwinnett County
* Janet V. Chastain
* Marylee Ferguson Duggins
* James Arthur Fisher Jr.
* Lacey Marie Jakes
* Jill Lambes
* Bradford Barrett Mayer
* Elizabeth Welch McClam
* Jane Moore
* Janice Pruitt
* Mary Michelle Ruhl
* Teri Thomas Schneider
* Jean Sun Yu Sohn
* Susan L. Tavernier
* Stephanie Wilker

People, Schools

Norcross Deals